Movie News

'Spectre' is next James Bond film, new cast members revealed

By Zaki JufriMovies - 04 December 2014 10:17 PM | Updated 08 December 2014

'Spectre' is next James Bond film, new cast members revealed

Sam Mendes, the director of the 24th James Bond film, revealed Thursday that the movie's title would be 'Spectre', and that the cast would include Christoph Waltz, Monica Bellucci and Lea Seydoux.

Mendes, speaking from the 007 Stage at London's Pinewood Studios, said that alongside Daniel Craig, who plays the iconic British spy in his fourth Bond movie, returning cast would include Ralph Fiennes as M, Naomie Harris as Eve Moneypenny, Rory Kinnear as Bill Tanner and Ben Whishaw as Q.

The new additions are Waltz (whose character was named "Oberhauser" on Twitter), Bellucci as Lucia Sciarra, Seydoux as Madeleine Swann and Dave Bautista as Mr. Hinx.

Andrew Scott, known to TV viewers as Moriarty in Sherlock, will play MI5 man Denbigh.

The 007 car will be the new Aston Martin DB10.

In the film, which is set for a global release on 6 November 2015, a cryptic message from Bond's past sends him on a trail to uncover a sinister organisation, Spectre.

While M battles political forces to keep the secret service alive, Bond peels back the layers of deceit to reveal the terrible truth behind Spectre. 

Spectre stands for "Special Executive for Counter-intelligence, Terrorism, Revenge and Extortion", a global terrorist organization that plays a major role in the Bond stories. 

Many Bond villains count themselves as members of Spectre, including Dr. No ('Dr. No'), Emilio Largo ('Thunderball') and Ernst Stavro Blofeld (From 'Russia With Love', 'Thunderball' and 'Diamonds Are Forever', to name but a few). 

The film, which starts principal photography Monday, will be shot over seven months at Pinewood Studios and several locations, which will include London, Rome, Tangier and Erfoud in Morocco, Mexico City, and Solden, Obertilliach and Lake Altaussee in Austria.

The screenplay was written by John Logan, Neal Purvis and Robert Wade.

New additions to the Bond crew include director of photography Hoyte van Hoytema and editor Lee Smith, who both worked on 'Interstellar'.